Skip to content

Giants Wrap Up Final Offseason Workout. Now Off Til July 21 Camp

June 19, 2014

Some news, notes and anecdotes as the Giants wrap up their minicamp portion of the offseason. Big Blue is now on break until the July 21 training camp…

– Coughlin said he told his players to keep a low profile and avoid the trappings in their down time: “We always talk about being smart. The ‘NY’ never comes off. Be responsible. Don’t let someone who has nothing invested in your future make decisions for you, who you’re going to be with, where you’re going, how you conduct yourself. You’ve got to be very smart this time of year with how you’re conducting yourself, what you’re doing. You can never lose sight of the prize.”

– He also made it clear he expects his players not come to camp out of shape: “Of course conditioning work in the heat is an important thing. And the realization, obviously, that alcohol and driving, just that alone, and the hydration process can be set back. Stay in shape because we play an extra preseason game this year [the Hall of Fame game]. The obvious is that they have one month. It’s not like a six-week break or whatever. And, really, this whole thing [is] based on the extra preseason game, so there is a responsibility for the players to each other. … Be in great shape. It [the extra game] is going to be a positive, no doubt. Yeah, we can use the work. The obvious is that we need to stay healthy in order to be able to take advantage of it.”

– Coughlin said he liked how the new guys and old guys started to mesh: “We had a lot of goals [and] a lot of things that were objectives in this camp. The integration of all the new people, whether it be draft choices or free agents that we brought in. I thought the veterans did a nice job of trying to integrate everybody into the team idea and I think we made some progress there. That was certainly one of them. … [And] of course the [new] offense and the offensive terminology and that type of stuff. We’ve been hard at work on that, we’ve made progress. We’re not there, but we’re making progress.”

– New offensive coordinator Ben McAdoo is making an impression on the coach: “He’s exactly what I thought when we hired him. He’s a hard worker, he’s driven, his priorities are what they should be, he works long and hard at his trade. I think he’s a good communicator, I think what we’ve got in the other coaches that we brought in, [like] Danny [Langsdorf], and Craig [Johnson], and the idea of everyone working together, I think that’s been accomplished. I think everybody’s on the same page with regard to that. We’ve just got to make some progress.”

– Most of the injured guys will stick around the facilities and continue treatment and rehab, said Coughlin: “If they are going to be away, it’s already been set up that they rehab at a certain place. Guys like Beason are going to be here, Manningham’s going to be here. They’re not going too far. That’s all taken care of. There’s nobody that will go without the supervision that they need to make sure that they’re what they are like when they get back.”

– Injured running back David Wilson said he’s just looking forward to that July 21 check-up date on his neck. And in the meantime, he’s just staying mentally ready: “I’m just staying healthy and staying in the playbook and staying focused. Learning my assignments so when I come in for training camp it’s second nature. It’s not going to be second nature, it’s only a couple weeks, it’s a new playbook, but the more comfortable you get with it, the faster you can play out there and the better you can run. … I’ve been getting a lot of mental reps and I think that helps more than anything because getting out there and just doing it and getting it wrong and getting it corrected. I think I learn better when I’m watching and I have a visual in front of me. I see guys running, I see their mistakes and I see what they do right. I feel like I could tweak things that they do excellent and I think I need to pick up. I’ve been very observant in practice and am asking a lot of questions.”

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment